Morris Cohen received his B.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in 2003 and 2010, respectively, and served as a research scientist there until August 2013. From September 2012 until August 2013, Dr. Cohen was appointed as AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellow at the National Science Foundation.

In Fall 2013, he joined the faculty in the School of ECE at Georgia Tech, with promotion and tenure as of Summer 2018. He was selected for the NSF CAREER award in 2017 and received the ONR Young Investigator Award in 2015. He is the winner of the 2014 Santimay Basu Prize by the International Union of Radio Science, an award given once per three years to an early career scientist. He is an author of more than 75 journal publications and 160 conference presentations. He serves as an Associate Editor for Radio Science and as President-Elect of the Atmospheric and Space Electricity Section of the American Geophysical Union. He utilizes a "flipped classroom" model for teaching, which increases student engagement and peer interaction, and won Georgia Tech's CTL/BP Junior Faculty Teaching Excellence Award in 2018. He enjoys hiking, cooking, traveling, and building pizza ovens.


Gebreab K. Zewdie (GB)
Joined Fall 2019
GB joined the the Low Frequency Radio Lab at Georgia Institute of Technology as a postdoctoral researcher in August 2019. He graduated with his PhD in Physics from the University of Texas at Dallas. GB is currently working on the application of advanced machine learning methods and physics based models to forecast space weather effects globally. He is also interested in the application of machine learning for societal benefits, such as forecasting environmental pollution and predicting particulates affecting susceptible individuals.
Jackson McCormick
Joined Spring 2014
Jackson is a postdoctoral fellow at Georgia Tech in the Low Frequency Radio Group studying the lower ionosphere and applications of manmade and natural low frequency radio waves. His research is multi-disciplinary, not only studying the propagation of radio waves, but incorporating important new techniques from other fields such as machine learning or sparse optimization. He earned his BS in Electrical Engineering from Purdue in 2008 and his PhD in Electrical Engineering at Georgia Tech and he enjoys traveling and spending time outdoors. LinkedIn

Graduate Students

Evan Worthington, ECE
Joined Spring 2015
Nathan Opalinski, ECE
Joined Fall 2015
Nikhil Pailoor, ECE
Joined Spring 2017
Ted Slevin, ECE
Joined Fall 2018
Ted is a PhD student from Brooklyn, NY. He graduated from the University of Michigan with a M.S.E in Electrical Engineering in 2015 and worked at Raytheon for three years. His research focuses on novel techniques to transmit low frequency waves.
Roderick Gray, ECE
Joined Summer 2019
Charles Topliff, ML-ECE
Joined Summer 2019
David Richardson, ECE
Joined Summer 2019
David is a second year Ph.D. student from Lilburn, GA. He received his BS in Electrical Engineering from Georgia Tech. During his undergrad, David worked as a Co-op in the Advanced Concepts Lab at the Georgia Tech Research Institute. His current work is developing a machine learning model to estimate electron density from VLF measurements. In his free time, David is an avid mountain biker and cyclist. LinkedIn
Shweta Dutta, ECE
Joined Fall 2019
Shweta is a second-year PhD student from South Brunswick, NJ. She graduated from the California Institute of Technology with a BS in Electrical Engineering and a minor in English, and has worked at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Currently, her research focuses on the machine learning for space weather effort, for which she is developing and refining a model of the electron density of the ionosphere. LinkedIn
Tohid Shekari, ECE
Joined Fall 2019
Tohid is currently pursuing the PhD in ECE and MSc in Cybersecurity in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, USA. His current research interests include cyber-physical system security, cybersecurity in power systems, intrusion detection in power substations, and power system resilience. LinkedIn
Liam Smith, ML-ECE
Joined Fall 2020

Research Engineers

Kevin Whitmore (BS 2018, MS 2019)
Joined Fall 2018

Undergraduate Students

Baris Gurses
Joined Spring 2017

Graduate Student Alumni

Nick Gross
PhD Graduated Fall 2018
Thesis topic: Machine learning for ionospheric remote sensing
Worked after graduating for US Air Force
Jackson McCormick
PhD Graduated Fall 2019
Thesis topic: VLF signals from lightning for tomographic ionospheric mapping
Marc Higginson-Rollins
PhD Graduated Spring 2020
Thesis topic: LF sounding of the lower ionosphere
Worked after graduating for McKinsey
Parker Singletary
PhD Graduated Spring 2020
Thesis topic: High speed plasma antenna modeling
Worked after graduating for GTRI
Lee Thompson
MS Graduated Fall 2017
Worked after graduating at SpaceX
Timothy Bolton
MS Graduated Spring 2016
Worked after graduating at Naval Undersea Warfare Center (NUWC)

Postdoc Alumni

Ajeet Maurya
Completed Fulbright Fellowship Fall 2016
Worked after finishing at Indian Institute of Geomagnetism